Color Wheel Exercise…

As I sort through my fabrics and organize them, I am creating a color wheel of sorts with each batch.  With the photo I take, I will have a quick check of which colors are low in stock.  However, I am not a “stash” maker.  I buy fabrics as I need them for projects.  But this will be a good check for me to see if I have a color needed before I head to the quilt shop.

I organized the folded fabric with the shades to the inside, the truer colors in the middle and the tints to the outside of the wheel.  It was an interesting exercise.  I thought that because there were so many colors mixed together in some of the fabrics, that I would not be able to place the fabric in one spot on the color wheel.  If that happened I stacked those colors to the side.  As it turned out, I usually could place the fabric on the color wheel quite quickly.  I liked this exercise.  I used Art + Quilt and Susan Stein’s Textile Art as references.  I also checked the color web site links, but didn’t find them useful for this exercise.

© 2010  All images and text are copyright of Mary A. Ritter (aka ‘M Unique) and may not be reproduced without express permission.

About muniqueblog

Wife, mother, retired educator, emerging artist. Mary has lived in 10 states and enjoyed them all ~ Minnesota, Wisconsin, Texas, Illinois, Kansas, Hawaii, California, Utah, Minnesota (return), North Carolina with long term visits to Colorado and Arizona. She likes to travel and create mixed media, quilted and fiber art. She has exhibited at the Page-Walker Art Gallery and History Center in Cary, NC; Durham-Orange Quilt Show; Minnesota Quilt Show; the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival and the Quilt Fest of New Jersey.
This entry was posted in Copyright© 2009 All images and text in all categories are copyright of Mary A. Ritter (aka M'Unique) and may not be reproduced without express permission., Fiber Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Color Wheel Exercise…

  1. Norma says:

    I’m trying out my blogger password to see if it works.

    Like

Leave a Reply

